Swallows returned April 25th.

I observed the first swallow on the Sunshine Coast  April 25th. A lone barn swallow.

Somebody said: “A lone swallow does not make a summer”, and they are right, it has been cold until now.

I count five birds in this picture, almost like Honey Bees

IMG_0001

IMG_0003

I have four feeders like this, have to fill them all at least once a day, that is about 5 kg sugar a week. The ratio in the summer is 1 to 4 parts water. I add some brown sugar and a tablespoon of real maple syrup, they like that.

IMG_0004

 

My good friend Ed came by as I took pictures of the Hummingbirds, so here he is, enjoying the humming and flights of the birds.

IMG_0007

Hummingbirds from early morning to late night.

CIMG3426

 

CIMG3432

All trees are now in full bloom. CIMG3423 This from under a flowering cherry in Sechelt. The native wild cherry trees are also in full bloom, and the Doogwoods are almost ready.

It is not always possible to stop the car and take a picture of the beautiful flowering trees,  but very enjoyable to see them, and I will try to get some pictures to show you.

 

This entry was posted in Misc, Moments, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.