A few seconds made my day

Sitting outside I heard a commotion at one of the bird and squirrel feeders. And there I could see, for just a few seconds, a beautiful Sharp-Shinned Hawk, trying to grab a Squirrel. Only 5 m. away, I got a clear look, as the Hawk had to pause, to turn, and get into flight between the branches.  I had no time to get a camera, but just the sight was worth it.

Images  see all the beautiful images

The neighbour dog ran after into the forest, but old, fat and unable to fly, he only made it a few steps before he gave up. The squirrel  lived to see another day. The next hour there were no birds or squirrels feeding. 2013-05-01 18.37.01

This quite one looks like he is praying or thanking someone  for something

I have seen Kestrel Hawk, Red Tail Hawk, and Sharp-Shinned a few times. The last one manuevers between the branches in the forest better than any other predatory bird.  2013-05-02 18.50.11

A relative safe place with lots of feed.

I like the squirrels, but the rats and mice he can help himself to any time.

This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.