The equation I = V/R is known as “Ohm’s Law”. Georg Ohm.

I am a Nicola Tessla fan, but March 16 th. is the birthday of Georg Simon Ohm. Happy Celebration. He must have been brilliant, persistent and probably curly hair from all the trials and errors. He is up there with Edison, Marconi, Volta, Watt, but none are near Tessla.

I have tried to measure Ohm’s, or electrical current, a few times. Something usually sparks and the lights go out. I know it is like a water hose, you can turn it on and off, but how does it run through the wires?

I have always had problems with volt, watts, amps, kw, ohms, diode,  110, 220, 3 phase, transformers, inverters, resistance, hydro, current, hot, live and ground, and other things I can not see with my own eyes, or feel comfortable with my hand. But, I have a sense for 12 volt and solar cells, small hydroelectric power plants and bees wax candles.

I have seen lightning striking an airplane, there were no place to go, the lightening bolt rolled down the wing. Nothing happened. If you are in a car or backhoe, and have live wires touching your machine, stay inside. Do not fly a kite on to power lines, don’t hide under a tree in a thunderstorm, and throw your umbrella and golf clubs away and get into the bar. Do not pee on an electric fence, especially when barefooted in wet grass.

I even have one of these, but really, there are too many options, dials, wires and buttons. Here is the deal.     Read more at Suite 101: 

 The light bulb filament violates Ohm’s law.” Glowing resistance. Understand that one !

“In electrical circuit elements, the resistance in ohms, potential difference in volts, and current in amps are related by Ohm’s law.” , or this one !

“The ohm, a unit of electrical resistance, is equal to that of a conductor in which a current of one ampere is produced by a potential of one volt across its terminals.”, or this, sounds almost like a political phrase.

The basic components of an electrochemical cell are: 

  1. Electrodes (X and Y) that are made of electrically conductive materials: metals, carbon, composites …
  2. Reference electrodes (A, B, C) that are in electrolytic contact with an electrolyte
  3. The cell itself or container that is made of an inert material: glass, Plexiglass, … and
  4. An electrolyte that is the solution containing ions.  From About.com.inventors

I am looking forward to Nicola Tessla’s birthday, and St. Patrick’s Day tomorrow,

I understand the last one.

This entry was posted in Correspondence, Education, Misc, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.