Sugar Lake and “Wolfie”

I have written several times about a property close to Sugar Lake, where I also spent a winter, snowed in. I took lots of pictures, all lost, somehow I found some from the area. These show a temporary logging bridge, and how we strained the run off waters with bales of hay, not to contaminate the small creek.

I loved the property, and after selective logging I planted lots of wildflowers and grasses, recommended by Forestry for that elevation and conditions. All the animals loved it, from bees to bears. The Grizzly killed my sheep, and scared my horses away. I had to board them at a neighbour for the winter.

To provide bridges across the creeks, I got hold of 40′ truck beds, wrecks, but when lifted in place, they provided fine bridges. For the larger creek I got hold of a 80′ railroad switch wagon, that a fully loaded logging truck could drive over.

A variety of birds, some I never seen before or after, visited me winter and summer. One old Moose hang around all winter, he liked the hay I had brought in for the sheep and the horses. A few White Tail Deer, and some Mule Deer hang around. There were several Black Bears, they lowed the tall Red Clover, and did not bother me. I saw one Bobcat often, he always run up in a tree when I came by. Some hunters killed 7 Cougars in the area, but I newer saw then, and they did not bother me.

http://www.ourbc.com/travel_bc/bc_cities/thompson_okanagan/cherryville.htm

http://www.google.ca/search?q=sugar+lake&hl=en&fhp=1&prmd=imvns&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=xHAKT8THKcOKiAKIv-iVCQ&ved=0CGoQsAQ&biw=1366&bih=643

Logging bridge, bales of hay to keep silt runoff from the creek

“Wolfie” was a Turkish Mountain Sheep Guard Dog, his parents served with one shepherd that worked sheep on the forestry planted areas. I got him as a small pub, and when he was killed his first winter, he was not fully grown.

He looked like a wolf, but was the nicest dog you could imagine. He was always in control of the sheep and horses I had at the time. He circled them, found a place with a view and would lay there all day and keep an eye with them. I had a Border Collie “Lita”  at the time, and they were the best of friends.

"Wolfie"

At Sugar Lake he would make a long run every night, and when he got home he would make the softest scratch on the door for me to let him in and feed him. Looking like a wolfe, I put extra collars on him, including reflective for the dark. Nobody could mistake him for a wolf, but one day he did not come home. I looked around his usual route, nothing, there were no neighbours to ask, except two, and one of them shoot him and dumped him on the municipal dump a couple of weeks later. I posted pictures at the local gas station, and a $100 reward, but no leads.

I lost the interest in this nice property, I did not want to live there any more, I could not live with neighbours like this, they knew the dog and where he belonged. A few years later I sold the property and have not been back there since.

I think of “Wolfie” often, always getting emotional and tearful, mad and sad. Within  a short time the Grizzly killed my sheep, and scared the horses away, I found them later, but could not bring them back to the property, they just ran away. The border collie hiding under the bed, shivering, our protector was gone.

This entry was posted in Family, Farming, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sugar Lake and “Wolfie”

  1. Pingback: Sheep farming with OIB in Vernon BC | Oddvin Vedo

Comments are closed.