Thinking out loud – my fourth life ?

Life one. How many lives does a man get ? I am soon finished with three now, and getting ready for the fourth. In the first i was born and raised, went to school and served in The Kings Guard in Norway. Two sister and a brother, and friends from the golf club.

Life two. Immigrated alone to Canada in ’66 when I was 22, became a Canadian citizen in ’79. Lived most of my life there, have most of my friends there, and two boys and my ex-wife and a step son, soon grandchildren. Canada, unlike Norway, looks after poor, sick and older people, properly.

Life three. Made a trip back to Norway in ’98 because my mother was old and my brother sick. My mother passed away Christmas Eve 2010. My brother got a kidney and pancreas operation and is as fine as can be. During this twelve years I worked for Aalesund Golf Klubb for two years, and was let go, when they wanted to close the golf course in town and move everything out-of-town. Took over the site in ’00, started Moa Golf Club,

http://news.moagolf.no/

 and in ten years had over 5.500 members registered through the club one way or the other, mostly as mail order members. Over 2.000 took their “Green Card”, a licence to play golf, at the club. The tax department ran me bankrupt in ’06, for reasons only they know; they taxed me on memberships in the club, totally wrong. I had suicide thoughts ever since, such an injustice. The club had problems with accountants and legal advice, and went through a voluntary receivership in ’09 to avoid problems for the members. Moa joined with AaGK and is now run as a year round training center

http://www.aagk.no/

with a 6 hole course and indoor golf simulators. I am 67 this year, and have to move on. I am trying to settle my tax debt, and as a Canadian citizen, I get a pension that I can not live on, I have to make a move.

Life four. May be my last. Ready to start life four now. Just waiting for my St.Bernard dog and good friend “Wilson” to pass away, and I am ready. I must go back to Canada to see if I still have friends, and fit in there. I think and know so, I love the big country, fell in love with Vancouver an October day in ’66, new snow in the mountains, the most beautiful city in the world. but, times have changed, I now have to live on my pension or work that I can do. That might be tough.

I have another thought. Get out of the rat race, live as a monk,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monk 

for the next years. I have found a large garden, in the middle of a small town in the Algarve Coast in Portugal. This site need desperately some work to bring it back to its glory. It belongs to a local church, and have been neglected for many years. A nice project for me. All the trees and bushes have grown wild, there is no running water any more, it is overgrown with weeds, and needs a lot of love and tender care. Just the right job for me. I need to lose weight, get in shape, do something meaningful with my life and energy.

To follow my friends to Thailand, find a young girl, live on a small pension, pretend I have a life; no , that is not for me at all. Sorry you boys, I will never even visit you there, but good luck to you. But, during Expo’86 I had lunch with the Crown Prince, now King of Thailand, he asked me to come and help starting a fish farm industry based on tilapia, a good eating fish. I should have listened to him then.

I don’t have to be a monk full-time, I can go golfing with my friends when they visit. I do love the looks, smell, sound and serenity of the old churches. I like the heat of the south, or rather, I do not like the cold winters of the north any more, I need the sun. I would certainly invite all potential nun’s to come and serve with me in this exciting project.

I will let my friends know what I do and decide. In any or both cases, I will expect visitors, to Canada or to a garden in Algarve.
Both will be a like a religious experience for you.

This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.